Sir Graham Brady to stand down as MP at next election | Politics News

Sir Graham Brady, chairman of the influential 1922 committee of backbench Tory MPs, is to stand down at the next general election.

The 55-year-old, who has represented Altrincham and Sale West for the past 26 years, said his time in parliament has been an “immense privilege for which I will always be grateful”.

In a statement he said: “I have decided to bring this fascinating and fulfilling chapter of my life to a close while I am young enough to pursue other opportunities and interests, so I will not be standing at the next election.”

Sr Graham said he will continue to serve as the 1922 committee’s chair until the end of this parliament if his colleagues want him to.

He added: “I will continue to do everything I can to support the Conservative cause and Rishi Sunak. He is bringing both stability and vision as prime minister.

“In 2024, I will campaign locally and nationally for the return of a Conservative government, that is in the national interest and in the interests of my constituents.

“I will continue to work hard in the service of the residents of Altrincham and Sale West, offering my judgment and experience until the end of the parliament.”

Sir Graham was first elected as an MP in 1997 and has been the Chairman of the 1922 Committee since 2010, bar a brief period in 2019.

But it wasn’t until the recent years of political instability he become something of a household name.

As chairman of the group of backbench MPs, he is tasked with gauging how unhappy his colleagues are and counting the all-important letters of no-confidence – a number he keeps a secret until it meets the crucial 15% threshold for a vote.

Sir Graham has overseen no confidence votes in both Theresa May and Boris Johnson, while his visit to Liz Truss in Downing Street on the day she resigned was seen as spelling the end of her short-lived premiership.

Sir Graham is the latest senior Conservative to announce they will not be contesting their seat at the next election, amid predictions of an electoral wipeout for the Tories.

Former cabinet ministers Sajid Javid, George Eustice and Nadine Dorries are among those who will be stepping down.